Falcon Awards Banquet: Women's Golf

Falcon Awards Banquet: Women's Golf

On Tuesday, May 4, 2017, the Falcons packed the gymnasium at the L. Gale Lemerand Center for Daytona State College's annual athletics awards banquet. Students, coaches, parents and staff enjoyed a great evening with catering from Carrabba's Restaurant and a bevy of awards honoring our top student-athletes for the 2016-17 season.

It was a very successful year on the field, in the classroom, on the court, at the course and on the pitch. Every one of the Falcons' eight varsity athletics programs finished with a record at .500 or above for the year. Six of the DSC athletic squads received Top 20 national rankings this year including women's volleyball, men's soccer, women's soccer, women's golf, men's basketball and women's fast pitch softball. Seven of our teams qualified for postseason play. Eleven student-athletes received first-team conference honors this year, with many additional honorees receiving second and third team recognitions as well. 

Off the field, the women's golf team posted its best team GPA to date with a 3.90. They are headed to the NJCAA National Championships on May 15 in Atlanta, Georgia. Women's golf won last year's NCJAA title and earned the NJCAA Female Academic Team of the Year Award as well. 

Thirty-three of our student-athletes are moving on to four year universities in the fall, with several more still undecided. It is our greatest pride to see our Falcons leave the nest and soar on to their next chapter. We wish all of our graduating sophomores the best and thank parents, coaches, staff and faculty for supporting another stellar season in Falcon athletics.



This award recognizes a student-athlete annually for his/her outstanding academic achievement, commitment to academic responsibilities, persistence in striving toward identified academic goals and the overall ability to attain a high level of academic success at Daytona State College.

2017 Award Winners (left to right): Alex Hendricks (men's baseball) and Kaye Kwon (women's golf) with Dr. Thomas LoBasso, President of Daytona State College.


Cam Becker
Coach's Achievement
Elizabeth Jackson
Most Improved Player
Falcon Award 
Jiwon Jeon
Most Valuable Player 
Kaye Kwon
of the Year 
Kendall Johnson
of the Year